Day 18 – Thursday April 21

  • 7:00 am cinnamon coconut cookie with tea
  • 9:00 am worth the wait crustless quiche with tomatoes and avocado
  • 1:00 pm restaurant green chicken curry with rice
  • 6:00 pm a few crackers with dip
  • 7:30 pm cheddar sausage, salad and rice
  • 9:30 pm herbal tea

I’ve started reading the book wheat belly. It’s about how bad wheat is for us. Specifically wheat the way it is produced now. It was ok 50 years ago but since it’s been so modified it is now really unhealthy for people and the cause of many health issues including obesity. Maybe I’ll become gluten free. That would really piss off my family! My family adamantly hates vegans, vegetarians, gluten free people (not sure what those are called, is there a term?) etc. I tend to agree with them. But I’m a little more tolerant 🙂 I remember one time a customer came into my dad’s restaurant and asked the server about what was gluten free on the menu. My dad’s response to the server was something along the lines of ‘that person should just go kill themselves’.  That pretty much sums it up.

I’ve started looking at recipes for ‘healthy’ brownies to make once this detox is over. They all use dates instead of sugar and they don’t have any flour in them. I’m pretty excited to try them, I hope they are good. Here are three I’m considering.

The raw brownie

No bake caramel chocolate fudge slice

Grain free fudge brownies

I’m thinking of starting with the raw brownie because it has so few ingredients. The problem is it says to use a food processor which I don’t have. I have a vitamix which might work. If it doesn’t I guess I’ll just end up with a big gooey mess. I always wonder if I should get a food processor. A lot of people say it’s not worth it because they are hard to clean and you end up never using them. But I just hate it when I find a great recipe and I can’t make it because I don’t have a food processor.

I also learned something cool: the difference between cocoa powder and cacao powder. Both are made from cocoa beans but cocoa powder is from beans that have been roasted and cacao powder is from the raw beans. So cacoa is much healthier. It’s a really good source of magnesium and contains high amounts calcium, zinc, iron, copper, sulfur, and potassium.

So, obviously I’ve been thinking about what to do after the detox. In the book it suggests reintroducing foods slowly. It says on the day after you finish you should choose one food to eat again, usually the food you missed most, and eat that food at all three meals along with foods you ate during the detox. I missed wine the most, does that mean I’m going to have wine for breakfast? Or maybe she doesn’t count wine as a food so I can add it as well as food? Likely she is some sort of super health freak who doesn’t drink ever and assumes no one else will either. (There’s that angry sarcasm coming out!) Anyway, after eating the chosen food on the first day don’t eat it again for the next 2 days so you can assess any changes and determine if you have a sensitivity to it. I guess that means that you aren’t introducing any other new foods on those two days either. So basically you are on the detox for a few more weeks while you reintroduce foods! F that!

Leave a Reply

