Day 5 – hardest day yet

It’s 4pm. My baby is still sleeping, she went down at 2pm. She’s having a really long nap to make up for the fact that she had only a 30 minute nap this morning. I’m going to be home alone with her tonight. Usually around this time I start to count down until Amr gets home to take over baby duty but tonight he’s going to the Blue Jays home opener with my brother. Normally I would enjoy a night to myself with a bottle of wine, a Caesar salad, and a few episodes of Grey’s Anatomy or The Good Wife but now I’m kind of dreading it because I can’t drink. I mean, I’m choosing not to drink. Obviously if I wanted to I could drink, but I’m on this detox for a reason. But anyway, I’m feeling a bit down. A night to myself is just not the same without good food and wine.

So I have a couple of options. 1. I could do something completely different. Maybe if I don’t watch tv I won’t miss the wine as much. I do have an unfortunate association, which I think a lot of people have, of food and tv or wine and tv. I was thinking I could work on my France scrapbook. This is something I want to do anyway and might help keep my mind off alcohol. 2. I could watch tv while eating dinner and then give myself a pedicure and instead of wine I can drink herbal tea. It’s definitely not the same but at least it’s something to do with my hands. Or I could do some combination of those two.

I’m planning to have some arctic char and a nice big salad. I do love the salads I make and one of the good things about salads is they take a long time to eat so I get to eat for longer.

 

  • 7:00 am – cinnamon crumb cake with tea
  • 8:45 am – small latte
  • 11:00 am – 2 buffalo chicken egg muffins, tomato, avocado and sprouts with olive oil
  • 2:00 pm – shepherd’s pie with sweet potato and veggies
  • 7:30 pm – arctic char, 2/3 cup of brown rice and salad
  • 8:00 pm – beemster cheese
  • 9:00 pm – herbal tea

Today was by far the hardest day. Friday night just isn’t the same without a glass of wine. And then when I was making my herbal tea I kept thinking how nice it would be to have a piece of chocolate with it. I almost went for it a couple of times before I remembered that I’m not eating chocolate right now.  21 days is starting to feel like  a long time.

Leave a Reply

